How to pronounce my name [ˈfɔɪ̯ɐˌʃtaɪ̯n]

Since some English native speakers seem to have difficulties pronouncing my name (at least that was my experience in Kansas 2002) I like to give a simple guideline. The main problem is the confusion about the different spelling/pronunciation relation in German and English. The solution is writing my name as if it was spelled in English according to its pronunciation. Thus, the result is simply:

‘Bair-nold ‘Foy-er-shtine

(and please not “Burnold Fewersteen” – that drives me crazy 😉

Leave a Reply

